That’s a wrap!

So, no cute Leap Year games here – we didn’t even talk about Leap Year at our house tonight. Instead we talked about making better choices when you’re feeling really angry, and why telling the truth when you mess up is better in the long run. Is there a game for that? I’m sure there is, but certain moments in parenting don’t call for pulling the perfect game off the shelf.

Tonight we needed to slow down and re-connect, so we did. Then we randomly started playing “I Went on a Picnic” over dinner, which made both of the kids laugh (we brought a violin, a watermelon, X-rays, yogurt, and zebras, among other things).

The whole evening reminded me that so much of the important learning we all do is spontaneous.Β Parents and teachers can try to be purposeful and plan for certain learning experiences with kids, but there are countless other unplanned moments that will be just as important in the long run of our lives together.

I started making a big matrix connecting learning styles and all of the games we played this month, but I ended up scrapping it. While the games we play at home may support our kids in building skills in literacy, math, visual/spatial awareness, speaking, listening, and physical development, those aren’t the most important things for our family.

The most important things did end up in the mix tonight…

Slow down.

Re-connect.

Laugh.

If a game helps us bring those elements into our home, then I’m all for it, whether it gets an educational seal of approval or not.

If you’ve been playing along this month, what important elements have risen to the top for you? What makes a game worth playing?

 

5 thoughts on “That’s a wrap!

  1. I am with you – the best laid plans on some days…. My kids are not quite old enough for games yet (2 and 4), but they do enjoy building with dominoes and some memory games – but I am REALLY looking forward to the board and card game years!! I just hope they like to play. If you have any suggestions I would love to hear them! Looking forward to your posts on outdoor play starting tomorrow!
    Dawn

    • Thanks Dawn! I think if they see you enjoying board and card games, there’s a good chance they will too πŸ™‚

  2. I. is a very busy girl. I meant to tell you that my Mom said that I was always game to try to keep up with my three older siblings at al very young age. I can just see me bringing up the rear and saying “wait for me” and “I can do it too”. Boot camp for sure. Looking forward to the month to come.

  3. I can picture that too πŸ™‚ Especially when you were living in Hood River and running all around the country side!

  4. I’ve been reading along, during this month on games…Your words almost always connect with my feelings, like a chain in Connect 4! Yes, the sign of a great game, and/or great learning, is the chance to “slow down, re-connect (and) laugh.”

    From homeschooling, I’ve had many opportunities to experience how valuable spontaneous learning is vs. learning I’ve “planned.” My hope, for any of my planned activities, is that spontaneous learning happens…that it leads to something else new I didn’t consider.

    A friend shared this knowledge with me last night, that she heard at a teacher’s inservice. The presenter said to give children a statement, and then ask “What’s the question?” She gave me an example of what the presenter was saying, but I want her to elaborate more on this concept…(There were 6 of us out to dinner, and the conversations were all over the place, so the opportunity for in-depth discussion was challenging!)…I’ll get back to you on what else she shares.

    Anyway, I thought that would make an interesting game… and encourage all sorts of thinking…and laughter!

Leave a Reply

