Evening Walk

We got home late and it was getting chilly. It turns out that I’m more stubborn and determined than I realized; after we ate I suggested a walk around the block.

The only person to take me up on the outdoor challenge was B. We bundled up and headed out.

We noticed the almost-half-moon, a few stars, and beautiful trees. She asked me to take pictures of the stars, the rocks, and the lambs ear plants in our back yard. She noticed the lights of the neighboring houses, the sounds of traffic on Federal, and the crunch of leaves under her feet. She was all wonder and joy. As always, she didn’t want to go inside, even though it was late and time to sleep.

Habits grow when we keep showing up and trying, despite varying weather and moods. I guess that’s how love grows too. I’m thankful that B. helped me show up tonight, after a day that made me lean toward disappearing.

 

2 thoughts on “Evening Walk

  1. Beautiful post, Elise. All of it. Especially your last few sentences–pure poetry. “Habits grow when we keep showing up and trying…I’m thankful that B. helped me show up tonight, after a day that made me lean toward disappearing.” That is what you do for me, with your writing and evolving projects. You encourage me to “show up” in ways I can’t always express. I’m printing out this post, and I’m going to share it with my friends.

    Thank you, B. for being determined, like your mom!

    Love to all of you, Lisa

  2. Pingback: “I Declare” by Lisa Coughlin – Guest Post and Photos | The Family Lab for Inquiry and Play

Leave a Reply

