Letting Go

One thing I’ve noticed about outdoor play, is that letting go is so much easier. Shy voices rise up; jackets and inhibitions are thrown aside. And it’s not just the kids. Today we stayed late at a playground, and I watched a guy my age rolling down a hillside with his three-year-old son. A full on barrel roll – both of them were covered in grass and laughing like crazy. Then they ran up the hill and did it again. And again. And again!

The physical letting go is great, but there’s sort of a soul letting go happening as well. Sometimes it’s a release of fear – I didn’t think I could do those monkey bars, but then I did! As a parent I have to remind myself to let go of my own fears for my children, so they can push more limits outside. Climb a little higher, jump a little further, find a sense of balance and joy in trying something new.

 

Speaking of trying something new, I’ve been changing up the blog design here  – I’d love any feedback about the new look, and how it reads on different devices. I’m still playing with lots of ideas for this space and I’m open to suggestions and constructive criticism! In that vein, to push my own learning, I’ve also decided go to the evo conference this July (thanks to M. for surprising me with tickets)!  It’ll be a great opportunity to learn more about social media in general, and I’m hoping to dive deeper into photography and the ins and outs of wordpress as well. Oh, and we’ll be in beautiful Park City, Utah – I’m counting the days already!

Have you practiced letting go and trying something new lately? What was it? If you haven’t, what would you like to try?

2 thoughts on “Letting Go

Leave a Reply

