La Cotidiana

I’d like you to meet my favorite word in Spanish – la cotidiana. The common translation to English is “the daily”, but a closer cognate is “quotidian”. It’s too bad that quotidian doesn’t have the best reputation in English. It brings to mind a daily, mind-numbing grind; something that’s overused and worn out.

For whatever reason, flipping it to Spanish brightens it up, for me. La cotidiana…These small moments are going to happen every day, but there will be new beauty, when you look a little closer. It’s the same cup, the same counter, the same soft lavender sweatshirt, but today I see it all for the first time.

I haven’t been on-point with our grand plans for documenting the 3 Rs this month, but in a way just returning to appreciate la cotidiana is a form of re-using and recycling. And by looking more closely at our daily patterns and habits, we might also be moving toward reduction. Editing down to what’s really essential for our daily lives. There’s nothing we need to buy or add, to magically become happier. It’s all here, each day, waiting to be discovered again.

In that vein, I hope you’ll check out Lisa’s Steps and Staircases blog – she’s re-started with daily photos of her family’s important things. Lovely and inspiring, as always!

2 thoughts on “La Cotidiana

  1. Elise, I love your reflections:

    “And by looking more closely at our daily patterns and habits, we might also be moving toward reduction. Editing down to what’s really essential for our daily lives. There’s nothing we need to buy or add, to magically become happier. It’s all here, each day, waiting to be discovered again.”

    You’ve taken the concept of the 3 R’s and you’ve completely made it your own. Thank you for relating this beautiful interpretation to my next phase of blogging on tumblr. It definitely applies–I am trying to get down to the essentials–to the heart of life. Living every day in a more conscious and joyful way. Thank you for being someone who contributes to this pursuit–La Cotidiana indeed! Is there a translation for this in Italian, I wonder? Because Italian is such a beautiful language as well.

    Gracias, Elise!

    P.S. I have a post-it note on my computer, reminding me to send you a 3 R’s/Outdoor post for this month. I will do that soon! : )

    • Thank you Lisa! I’m glad that you’re blogging again, and I love the photograph format that you’re using.

Leave a Reply

