Mindfulness and Random Holidays

I guess most of our celebrations this month are leaning toward some sort of Zen philosophy. That suits me better than the alternatives, like International Town Criers Day or Don’t Step on a Bee Day. And if I’m paying attention to the present moment, breathing deeply, and letting go of what doesn’t feed my soul, I think it suits Bella and Sam.

We’re definitely not against all made-up, semi-organized holidays. Of course we love National Doughnut Day which always falls on the first Friday in June. We’ll probably go ahead and celebrate National Ice Cream Day on July 15, and it’s fortuitous that my sister is getting married on July 28, National Dance Day. I think I’ve missed the official National Yoga Day this year, but I’m happy to celebrate that one on my own each day.

Any national (or international) celebration days that you never miss?

Leave a Reply

