Book Love Give-Away

 

Book-Love-3D-250x350

It’s official – Melissa Taylor’s Book Love has just been released in print, so the kindle-less few (myself included) can flip through, underline, jot notes and dog ear to our hearts’ content.

I’m giving away one copy of Book Love, to celebrate our month of giving. I’ll do a random number generator based on comments that answer the simple question: What books are you loving right now?  

This give-away is without legal guidelines and disclaimers – I don’t know when I’ll do the drawing (which makes it even more random!), and I might give commenters extra entry points for obscure or unexpected titles. Let’s also say extra points for literary snobbery, just for fun. And on the flip side, double the extra points for graphic novel aficionados. Oh, infinite entries into the random give-away for all book lovers! Someday, when I have the means, I’ll give away at least one book a day…

In the meantime, one copy of Book Love may have your name on it, if you’ll woo me with your book recommendations. Once a winner is chosen, we’ll figure out the delivery details.

7 thoughts on “Book Love Give-Away

  1. My top three favorites of the moment:
    1. Buddhism for Mothers of Young Children: Becoming a Mindful Parent by Sarah Napthali. I’ve read it many times and go back to it all the time, especially this time of year.:)
    2. Ripe by Nigel Slater. Yes, it’s a cookbook but I love the way he uses words and loves food..in this case fruit. It’s beautiful and scrumptious.
    3. Los Tres Cerdos by Bobbi Salinas. I read this to my kindergartner at drop off and it is by far my favorite version of this story. The copy in my daughters classroom is signed by the author with the quote “believing is seeing.”
    AND, not actually reading it but listening to it in the car: Wildwood by Colin Meloy. I think it’s technically children/young adult literature but it’s the kind of adventure story I dig.

    Thanks for the always inspiring posts Elise. Your blog is always a favorite read. 🙂

  2. I just finished Jhumpa Lahiri’s “Interpreter of Maladies,” which was wonderful, and before that Eurdora Welty’s A Curtain of Green, also wonderful. If I could adopt Welty’s power of description…

  3. I date books like some women date men, so in that spirit, here is the list of “books” that I’m in love with some way or another…

    The best friend love…Big Big Love, Revised: A Sex and Relationships Guide for People of Size (and Those Who Love Them) by Hanne Blank. This is still on my amazon wishlist, but I seek it out every time I go to a bookstore hoping to find it on the shelf. I heard the author on the Dan Savage Lovecast, and I’m pretty sure she will make me feel prettier after I read her book.
    http://www.amazon.com/Big-Love-Revised-Relationships-People/dp/158761085X/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pC_nS_nC?ie=UTF8&colid=2CTAK8KNWW836&coliid=I12JDGWG5IS5BE

    The love that it bad for you but you love them anyway…Again, another book on my Amazon wishlist is John Dies at the End and the newly publish sequel, This Book Is Full of Spiders: Seriously, Dude, Don’t Touch It by David Wong. This is a dark, satirical series that is has an anti-hero that makes my heart go a pitter-patter. Most women have a thing for a character in uniform, I have a thing for anti-heroes — bad guys doing good, or good guys doing bad. Yum! http://www.amazon.com/This-Book-Full-Spiders-Seriously/dp/0312546343/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pC_nS_nC?ie=UTF8&colid=2CTAK8KNWW836&coliid=I3OHTB84PAZPM3

    True love…Tolstoy’s Anna Karenina. This one is acutally sitting my shelf, and I’ve actually already read the essay in the preface, but I can’t start it until I”m done messing around with John Irving’s new book, In One Person, A Novel. (Irving’s book is like dating that self-absorbed, latent homosexual who only wants to talk when THEY want to talk. I’ve thought of “dumping” the book, and yet I’m loyal to the A Prayer for Own Meaning author for some reason.) And I am feeling the pressure of the upcoming movie, so I need to get reading.
    http://www.amazon.com/Anna-Karenina-Penguin-Classics-Tolstoy/dp/0140449175/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1354650517&sr=1-2&keywords=anna+karenina+by+leo+tolstoy+penguin+classic

    The love that you don’t take home to mother…While it’s not a graphic novel per se, I’m obessed with finding comic books with the Domino Lady. I hate to admit it, but I have a thing for crime noir and this character is sexy, smart, and adored by men (everything I wish I was). There is a short story compilation publsihed by Moonstone that I love returning to for some crime noir. http://www.amazon.com/DOMINO-LADY-SEX-AS-WEAPON/dp/1933076399/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1354650249&sr=1-1&keywords=domino+lady

    Non-fiction love…I like my books to be heavy on fiction but there’s room in my heart for some non-fiction love. Kane Hodder has played the serial killer Jason hundreds of times. Who doesn’t know the bigger-than-life form of Jason? Unmasked: The True Life Story of the World’s Most Prolific, Cinematic Killer is the autobiography of Hodder, and I can’t wait to take it to bed with me.
    http://www.amazon.com/Unmasked-Worlds-Prolific-Cinematic-Killer/dp/0984580131/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pC_nS_nC?ie=UTF8&colid=2CTAK8KNWW836&coliid=I3UXY1V6NVK01G

  4. Good suggestions above.
    I’m currently reading Asterix and the Roman Agent by Goscinny and the Principles of Uncertainty by Maira Kalman….among other titles. 🙂

    Here are some recent good reads:
    Binky Takes Charge by Ashley Spires
    Understanding Comics by Scott McCloud
    The Graphic Cannon:from the epic of Gilgamesh to Shakespeare to Dangerous Liasons: Vol. 1
    Graphic Novels: Everything You Need to Know by Paul Gravett

    I’ve gained new insights from the graphic novels about art and creativity. It’s a whole new subject for me. I’m amazed at the range of styles and subjects. The comparison of American, European and Japanese comics and graphic novels is fascinating.

    (Please give your generous give away to someone with young kids. My kids are all excellent and avid readers.)

  5. Let’s see. I am currently reading Maphead by Ken Jennings. Over the past three months I read Paris Was Ours edited by Penelope Rowlands before turning out the light. The best thing I’ve read lately was Habibi by Craig Thompson, a graphic novel. Oh and Alder and I have been enjoying Henry and Mudge by Cynthia Rylant and the Noddy books by Enid Blyton a lot lately.

  6. Thank you Kristen, Andrea, Angela, Margaret, and Stacey, for every recommendation. Clearly I’ve got a lot of reading to do. I also have the following on my list: Glittering Images by Camille Paglia, Art and Fear by Bayles & Orland, The Best American Essays of 2012 (edited by David Brooks), and Step Across This Line by Salman Rushdie.

    As for the Book Love drawing, I quite fairly gave each entrant 8 points, plus 2 bonus points gifted by my mom. When all 40 entries were churned through the giant bingo cage at random.org, the winner was Angela. Thanks again for playing!

Leave a Reply

