Setting Intentions: A Hard Re-Start

IMG_8890

Somehow I fell off the planet, during the month I thought I’d be the most grounded. The plan was to focus on documenting and writing about our time outside. March is often the snowiest in Colorado, so consciously making an effort to spend more time outside was (and still is) a good plan for our family. We’ve had some beautiful snow, as well as balmy 60 degree days, and we’ve thoroughly enjoyed our time outside so far.

Which is an excellent reason for not blogging very much, so I could just stick with that story. But like any good story, there’s more to it than that. Really I’ve been in a process of realigning myself with the world – trying to dig deeper into what really matters to me, rather than just going through the motions. Slowing down to ask myself what matters, and then actually listening to the answers.

My work colleague and I presented at the Rocky Mountain Early Childhood Conference here in Denver, which re-grounded me in my love of process-focused-art and Reggio-inspired systems. Re-grounding which has me floating up in the air, and re-launching the old Yo-Yo Reggio blog. The conversations we had with teachers were fascinating to me, and I realized that I need to continue to pursue ways to further that conversation, both in relation to education systems and to creativity in general. My focus on the Reggio-inspired blog will be the idea of “provocations” particularly within the visual arts.

I’ve also been immersed in the world of children’s literature. I’ve been busy writing about titles for our district library review committee – work that I love. In an effort to align all of my loves, I’m going to start posting more book reviews in this space, though I’m sure you’ll still find photos, quotes, resources, recipes and on-going projects.

Finally, I’ve been working on some children’s lit writing projects of my own, with encouragement from new friends at the Lighthouse Writers Workshop. I’ve always had a million ideas to write about, but have rarely created the time and space to commit ideas to paper. And even when the words have made it to paper, I haven’t committed myself to the hard work of sharing, revising, and editing within a community of writers. Shyness is a formidable opponent, but I’m starting to stand up to that nemesis of mine.

So there you have it, my hard re-start (i.e. shutting down the entire system, counting to thirty, and then rebooting) has served me well. I’m back on the bike and ready to roll.

IMG_8893

What are you up to? How do you restart, when your system is overloaded?

5 thoughts on “Setting Intentions: A Hard Re-Start

  1. Elise, So good to hear about all you’ve been up to…welcome back!

    When I experience a system overload, getting outdoors is helpful, going for a walk, reading a book…I usually gravitate towards having more solitary time. Sounds like you’ve been busy, and all these activities have helped you come to a new place. Restarting/rebooting is a good thing!

  2. Welcome back to blogging. All your intentions sound so strong and exciting. I’ll be happy to see where you go with it all. It’s a good reminder to define a direction(s) and stay focused. Thanks,

  3. I always look towards heat for a restart, lately it has been the Havana Steam Baths. Maybe because I have never been able to afford a real fancy spa vacation or maybe because of all the years living near hotsprings but there is something about a quiet day sweating alone that makes me feel empowered and motivated.

Leave a Reply

