The Ultimate Re-Use

Print

 

As I mentioned in my last post, I’ve been listening to Happier at Home by Gretchen Rubin. Rubin got involved in streamlining the New York state organ donor registry, just one of the results of her ongoing happiness project. When I heard that section of the book, I thought that the cause was interesting and important, but I also knew that is wasn’t really “my Calcutta.”

I signed up as a donor years ago, when I got my Colorado driver’s license, and I really hadn’t thought about it since. But once an idea enters your consciousness in a more meaningful way, it has a tendency to pop up all over the place. Since listening to that section of Happier at Home, I’ve been running into many reminders about organ, tissue, and cornea donation.

I saw a Donate Life Colorado poster at the library, so Michael and I went on-line and updated our own records. That led me to the national Donate Life site, which can direct potential donors to individual state registries. Then I read a beautiful and heart-breaking blog post that a friend had linked to – describing the last days of a young child’s life, and the family’s decision to donate his organs, so that many other families and children could live a little longer, a little healthier.

If you’ve ever considered registering, or if you’re not sure if you’re registered, it only takes a few minutes to sign up on-line (at least in Colorado!). You might need to have your driver’s license or other i.d. number handy. Just a few minutes could make a huge difference for another person.

One thought on “The Ultimate Re-Use

  1. Thanks for the nudge, Elise. Larry and I are both going to check our enrollment and update if we need to. It’s a serious subject but important and worthy of attention. We have other things to attend to as well–emergency preparedness and organizing our legal documents and end of life directives. Not fun, but I’m sure when we’re done we will be glad we did it. Maybe I can figure out how to put some fun into the tasks. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

