Moby-Mix – Oceanic Book Recs

IMG_2325

 

Earlier this year, Sam and his dad started reading Moby-Dick at bedtime. It was an abridged version, from the dollar store, and it was a big hit, at least for Sam. While there are infinite layers of symbolism that he might explore when he reads Moby-Dick down the road, for now it lives in his mind as a great adventure tale, which is good enough for me.

The story became even more intriguing, when we recently found Moby-Dick In Pictures by Matt Kish. He really created one drawing for every page of the original novel, and each illustration is fascinating. Even though I didn’t start as a particularly rabid Moby-Dick fan, this is a book that I must own. That I will own!

51TKFw262sL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA300_SH20_OU01_

We’re both in love with the book, and with Matt’s art, so we also recommend his very fine blog.

I thought our whale tale was settling down, and then we found Moby-Duck: The True Story of 28,800 Bath Toys Lost at Sea and of the Beachcombers, Oceanographers, Environmentalist, and Fools, Including the Author, Who Went in Search of Them.Ā If you made it through the title, you might enjoy the book. It’s a dense, non-fiction account of exactly what the title describes. I’m reading it to Sam, and I think we’ll be maximizing our renewal limit on this one. But he loves it, so I’ll keep on reading, all for the love of a water-loving boy.

51D6HKjiLdL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA300_SH20_OU01_

 

What are your watery book recommendations?Ā 

2 thoughts on “Moby-Mix – Oceanic Book Recs

  1. I haven’t read Moby Duck, but have read other tales of the lost ducks. I think there is also a website that people track when they find one of the floatees (frogs and turtles also escaped, I believe) Very cool to see how the ocean currents move around the globe!

  2. I started Moby-Duck but will put it aside during travel vacation. AD recommends The Light Between Oceans, a novel by M.L. Stedman which I also started and will return to later. I’m limiting myself to one or two books for our road trip, instead of my usual bagful of books. I’ll see if it works out that way. I will take sketch books and WATERcolors. Hope I use them. šŸ™‚ Have you seen Danny Gregory’s An Illustrated Journey? It’s his latest book profiling travel sketchbooks. I think I’ll get it to take on my own journey. You can see interviews with some of the book’s sketchers on his website. Perfect for summer inspiration.
    Maybe we’ll get to the ocean on the trip. Our nearby Strait of Juan de Fuca almost counts as an ocean, but we see Victoria BC 20 miles to the North as well as the San Juan Islands when we look out. Not a bad view for a beach walk.

Leave a Reply

